Homeschool Moms - Teach Children Online

Recruiter
VIPKID
Location
Waterbury
Salary
Competitive
Posted
Sep 20, 2017
Closes
Oct 11, 2017
Industry
Education
Employer Type
Direct Employer
Employment Type
Permanent
Hours
Full Time

The future is here! Join a fast growing community of elite educators who are teaching right from their home. As an independent contractor, you will be matched 1:1 with Chinese students on our secure virtual learning platform to teach English online. All you need is a bachelor's degree and experience in teaching. You can make your own schedule and use VIPKID resources to instruct - no lesson planning required!



This opportunity is for you if you have a strong teaching background, are energetic, engaging, and self-motivated. If you consider yourself a global educator and are excited about the use of technology to connect the world, then this is a match. Partner with us and help change the face of online learning.



About VIPKID



We have offices in Beijing, Shanghai, and San Francisco and have over 100,000 students and 15,000 teachers on the VIPKID platform. Founded in 2013, VIPKID has won several awards including CY Zone's Top 100 Chinese Companies, Top 21 Global Innovation Companies, and the US-China Entrepreneurship Leader Award. We have strategic partnerships with ETS, Coursera, and TESOL, and are venture backed by top investors, such as Innovation Works, Sequoia Capital, Matrix Partners, Northern Light Venture, Yunfeng Capital, Learn Capital, and Kobe Bryant's fund, Bryant Stibel.



We pride ourselves on giving Chinese children the American elementary school experience.



The Work




  • 1-on-1 online full immersion English language and content classes

  • An American curriculum, based on the Common Core State Standards

  • 25-minute highly engaging lessons



Requirements




  • Exposure to the American or Canadian K-12 education system

  • Minimum 1 year of teaching experience

  • Bachelor's degree

  • Tech Requirements: Desktop or Laptop with a fast internet connection and audio/video capability



Opportunity Details



Contract type: Independent contractor



Contract term: 6-Months



Start date: Immediately



Hours: In order to maximize the number of classes scheduled, teachers are recommended to be available for at least 15 time slots per week (each time slot is 30 minutes) during Beijing peak times. The following hours tend to be the most requested time periods from our families: Monday-Sunday 6-10pm, and Saturday-Sunday 9am-10pm in Beijing time.



Here are the times converted to US times:



Peak Times



Monday - Friday Saturday - Sunday



Beijing 6pm - 10pm Beijing 9am - 10pm



EST 6am - 10am Fri-Sun 9pm - 10am



CST 5am - 9am Fri-Sun 8pm - 9am



MST 4am - 8am Fri-Sun 7pm - 8am



PST 3am - 7am Fri-Sun 6pm -7am



Hawaii 1am - 5am Fri-Sun 4pm - 5am



Payment: Our teachers are paid according to the number of classes finished. The minimum service fee rate range is US$ 14-$18/hour. There are incentives for every lesson, so a typical service fee ranges between US$ 14-22/hour. This business opportunity is ideal for independent contractor teachers looking to supplement their income.



HOW TO APPLY



Please apply through our Teacher Recruitment Portal:



MORE INFORMATION



Facebook:





Linkedin:



Youtube:



FAQs for applicants:



Reviews about us on Glassdoor: glassdoor.com/Overview/Working-at-VIPKID-EI_IE.11,17.htm



Job Type: Contract



Salary: $20.00 /hour



Required education:




  • Bachelor's



Required experience:




  • teaching: 1 year